1. How did you choose financial planning as a career?

My interest in financial planning sparked when I was in high school and took a financial planning class as an elective. It was then that I realized how passionate I was about finance and chose to dive deeper into the field as my choice of study in college at Murray State University in Kentucky. After obtaining my degree in Finance with an emphasis in Financial Planning, I got my MBA with a Finance emphasis.

2. Why did you choose to work for D3?

As I neared the end of graduate school and began my career search, I already had in mind what kind of firm I wanted to work for. I saw myself at a small, fee-only financial planning firm with a strong, passionate desire to help clients successfully navigate their financial situations. When I came across D3 during my job search and read more about the company, I had a good feeling that D3 would the right fit for me.

3. What’s been the biggest culture shock moving from Memphis, Tennessee to Chicago?

As someone who has spent a lot of time traveling abroad, the public transportation and busy city life wasn’t hard to adjust to. The weather in January and February, on the other hand, was certainly a shock. I’ve never been in such cold temperatures in my life!

4. How did you meet your fiance, who is from Hungary?

I met my fiance, Sobe, during my junior year of undergrad, so we’ve been together for three years now. After graduation, he went back to Hungary and got a job at the global headquarters for Syngenta in Basel, Switzerland. We have been long distance for a couple of years now, but we have been fortunate enough to visit each other several times a year. He is working hard to find a job close to me. As I am writing this, he is actually here in Chicago visiting me and has completely fallen in love with the city, as have I.

5. Where have you traveled?

I spent one summer in Budapest, Hungary, another summer in Zurich, Switzerland, spring break in Barcelona, Spain, two family vacations with Sobe and his family in Italy on the beach, and another vacation in Croatia. I’ve also visited a few different places in Germany, Slovenia, and Austria as well as Rome, Venice, Milan, and Paris twice. I’ve been extremely fortunate to travel over the last couple of years and am thankful for the experiences I’ve been afforded.

6. Have you tried deep dish pizza yet?  Thoughts?

I actually tried it for the first time this weekend and it was DELICIOUS.

7. What’s your favorite TV show right now?

My latest Netflix addiction has been House of Cards. I recently finished the newest season. It’s the kind of show where you have no idea what’s going to happen next, and it has no boundaries whatsoever.

8. Do you like pets?  Dogs or cats?

As someone who grew up with two cats, I’m definitely a cat person. I hope I’m able to get a cat within the next couple of years. My experience with the two I grew up with is that they make the best companions.

9. Do you have any hidden talents?

I started riding horses when I was 13 and spent much of middle and high school riding. During college it became hard to find time to ride, but I hope to get back at it one day.

10. What other activities do you like to do in your spare time?

I enjoy being outdoors, working out and running, and trying new healthy recipes.

pic

Myself and a view of Paris from the second level of the Eiffel Tower.

 

pic1

My boyfriend, Sobe, and I at the Trevi Fountain in Rome.

 

pic2

Sobe and I in Budapest.