1. What is your financial planning background? Is there a specific topic area in financial planning that interests you most?
My financial planning background started during my time in college. I majored in personal financial planning for my undergraduate degree at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and for my master’s degree at Texas Tech University. From there, I have had the opportunity to intern at an independent financial planning firm in New York City and have worked full time at two large independent financial planning firms here in the Midwest.
It is hard to select one area that is more interesting than another since so many aspects of financial planning relate to one another. I do find the strategizing on tax avoidance very interesting and can be very valuable and I find investment planning to be really interesting as well.

1

2. What are you looking forward to most about working with D3?
The thing I am looking forward to the most is getting to know the people that we work for. I enjoy getting to know people and I receive a lot of fulfillment knowing that we are able to impact people’s lives in a positive way from the work we do.

3. How do you like to spend your free time?
When it is warm enough, I like to be outside and active. Chicago is a great city that always seems to have something going on, so I enjoy soaking up all of the activities in Chicago. I like to work out and run when I can. I enjoy music and seeing various shows throughout Chicago and I of course love rooting for our Chicago sports teams.

2

4. What is your favorite activity to do in Chicago?
Go to a Cubs game.

3

5. If you could visit anywhere in the world, where would it be? Why?
One of the places next on my list is Pamplona, Spain for the Running of the Bulls. I have been fortunate to have traveled to a lot of great places, so beyond the Running of the Bulls, I am looking to travel to more of Eastern Europe and South America since I have a lot that I have not seen in those areas.

4

6. Where did you grow up?
I grew up in Rock Falls, Illinois, which is a small town in the northwest corner of Illinois.

7. Which would you prefer as a second home: Mountain cabin, beach house or big city condo?
Definitely the beach house. That would help out with the Chicago winters a lot!

8. When you were a child, what did you say you wanted to be when you grew up?
I had a lot of ideas. For a while I thought I wanted to be a doctor or a personal trainer. The human body has always been interesting to me. I did think about being a financial planner as well though. In fact, in 5th grade I took a personality test which told me that I was suited well for a career as a personal financial planner. I guess the test did a pretty good job!

9. Do you have a favorite childhood memory?
Our family would go on a family vacation about every summer. In the moment, there might have been some fights in the van amongst siblings or some boring long rides, but looking back, we all had some great times and great memories from all of these trips.

5  6